Citation for Honorary Doctor of Laws (honoris causa)

Professor Thomas W. Healy, AO

MSc(Melb), PhD(Columbia), DSc(Hon), FRACI, FAA, FTSE

Thomas William Healy was born in Melbourne, Australia. Following his high school education he entered the University of Melbourne on a Commonwealth Scholarship in 1955. He then graduated BSc (1958) and MSc (1960) before taking up a National Science Foundation Scholarship at Columbia University, New York, USA to undertake a PhD with Professor Victor K. La Mer, Professor of Physical Chemistry. In 1963, he took up a teaching and research position at the University of California at Berkeley in Professor D. W. Fuerstenau's research group. For two very productive years at Berkeley he worked on adsorption of surfactants at solid-liquid interfaces, the relation between crystal structure and interfacial properties of oxides, solid-solid mixing fundamentals and on flotation chemistry. It was during this time that he published with Hogg and Fuerstenau, the now famous HHF theory of the mutual coagulation of colloidal dispersions.

He was awarded a prestigious Queen Elizabeth II Fellowship to return to Australia in 1965, which he took up in the Department of Physical Chemistry, University of Melbourne. Some 13 years later, after holding Senior Lecturer and Reader positions he was appointed to the Chair of Physical Chemistry at the University of Melbourne.

In 1991 Professor Healy and his group were awarded a Special Research Centre from the Australian Research Council, the Advanced Mineral Products Centre (AMPC). This allowed him to embark on adventurous long term studies on core colloidal problems linked into the minerals industry. The AMPC from 1991 to 1999 and its successor, the Particulate Fluids Processing Centre (PFPC) from 2000 to 2008, brought together researchers in colloid and surface chemistry, fluid mechanics and rheology and interfacial continuum mechanics all focusing on science and engineering set within a minerals and materials processing framework.

Tom Healy has received many acknowledgements of his excellence in science, including his election to Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Science in 1983, and in 1991, to the Australian Academy of Technological Science and Engineering. He has been the Foreign Guest of Honour and/or Plenary Lecturer at many symposia in the United States, Japan and Europe. He has prestigious Australian awards including Fellowship of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute, the 1991 A E Alexander Lectureship of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute and the 1992 Royal Society of Victoria Medal. For his work in the role of interparticle forces in the flow of concentrated colloidal dispersions he was awarded the 1999 Ian Wark Medal of the Australian Academy of Science. He co-founded the journal "Colloids and Surfaces" and has served on the Editorial Boards of all major colloid and interfacial science journals. He was a founding member of the International Association of Colloid and Surface Science, and of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry and the "Australian Colloid and Surface Chemistry Students Conference". Over the past 35 years he has published over 200 papers in major journals. In 2001 he was awarded the Centenary of Federation Medal for his services to science and society. He was elected to the Order of Australia in 2005 for his services to science and technology and to philanthropy. In 2009 he was elected as a Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Engineering.

He has served his University in many senior roles, including Dean of Science for six years and as President of the Academic Board and Pro Vice Chancellor during 1997-1998 inclusive. On his retirement was appointed as Professorial Fellow and is now a member of the Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering. He was an elected ex-officio member of the Council of the University of Melbourne from 1985 to 1999. The University of Melbourne conferred on him the DSc (*honoris causa*) in 1999 for his contributions to scientific research and tertiary education leadership.

In 1990 he was made a Governor of the Ian Potter Foundation and from 1990-1992 was a Director of UniMelb Ltd. Over 1996-2006 he was a Trustee and Inaugural chairman of the Australian Landscape Trust. Tom Healy has served on the Council of Philanthropy Australia and as a Board Member of the Ian Potter Museum of Art at the University of Melbourne.

He has been a member of the council of the Australian Research Council (ARC) and Chair of the ARC Institutional Grants Committee. His ARC contribution to management of the Australian higher education research enterprise has been significant and includes initiation and support for ongoing development of Centres of concentration of research effort, targeted support of infrastructure to support higher education research, new initiatives in industryuniversity links and development of networking structures around the Australian research effort to maximize the effect of infrastructure.

The award of Honorary Doctor of Laws is a highly deserved recognition of Tom's contribution to science as a researcher and academic in the area of physical chemistry, and to the community through support for the activities of the Ian Potter Foundation and Philanthropy Australia.