ARC invests in University of Melbourne researchers

University of Melbourne has welcomed Australian Research Council (ARC) funding today for Australian Laureate Fellowships, Future Fellowships and a University of Melbourne-led ARC Industrial Transformation Training Centre.

University of Melbourne Professors Jonathan Barnett, Dan Li and Madeleine van Oppen are among 17 researchers nationally to receive the Australian Laureate Fellowship this year.

Ten University of Melbourne researchers have been awarded Future Fellowships valued at $7.93 million, including Dr Linda Wakim, Associate Professor Matthew Spittal, Dr Stephan Rachel, Associate Professor Devi Stuart-Fox, Dr Louise Cheng, Dr James Hutchison, Dr Qiang Fu, Dr Matthew Dolan, Dr Alessandro Soncini and Dr Justine Mintern.

The ARC Industrial Transformation Training Centre for Medical Implant Technologies, led by Professor Peter Lee from the University's Department of Biomedical Engineering, has also received a $4 million boost over four years.

The training centre will unite renowned scientists, engineers and clinicians in universities and academic hospitals that excel in medical research with industry leaders from Australia, China, Israel, UK and the US to bridge the transition of research and development to industry practice.

University of Melbourne Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Jim McCluskey said the funding provided an important boost to not only the University, but also to the research sector.

“This funding endorses the leading research capabilities at the University of Melbourne and the important work that is undertaken across a range of fields,” Professor McCluskey said.

“We are delighted that the University’s researchers have been recognised by the ARC, which will increase the University’s capacity to provide the public with improvements in health, the environment and well-being.”

For more information, visit the ARC website.