Australian Research Council Future Fellows announced

ARC Future Fellows
Fifteen University of Melbourne researchers have been awarded Australian Research Council Future Fellowships.

Fifteen University of Melbourne researchers have been awarded Australian Research Council Future Fellowships, receiving a total of $13.8 million for research that helps to bring health, scientific and environmental benefits for the nation.

Federal Minister for Education Dan Tehan announced the 100 Future Fellows nationally, who will receive a four-year fellowship and funding towards their research.

University of Melbourne Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Jim McCluskey said: “Our researchers are seeking the answers to the significant challenges facing Australia today and in the decades ahead. This is important research that will make a difference and bring social and economic benefits for the country.

“Congratulations to our 15 Future Fellows who are conducting research in areas considered by the Australian Government to be of national and international benefit. We thank the Australian Research Council and the Federal Government Minister for the important funding, support and investment in the nation’s future.”

This year’s University of Melbourne ARC Future Fellowship recipients are:

  • Dr Kate Macdonald - Scaling-up the impact of voluntary sustainability standards.
  • Professor Tom Wilkening - Market Design for the Reallocation of Land.
  • Dr Andrew Cox - Metabolic control of organ growth and regeneration.
  • Professor Kirsty Gover - Understanding and Recognising Indigenous Law and Legal Systems.
  • Professor Elise Bant - Unravelling Corporate Fraud: re-purposing ancient laws for modern times.
  • Associate Professor Lee Skerratt - Improving disease resilience in ecosystems using synthetic biology.
  • Professor Jizheng He - Contribution of comammox bacteria to soil nitrification.
  • Professor Howard Bondell - Statistical Modelling in the Era of Data Science: Theory and Practice.
  • Dr Katharine Greenaway - Enhancing Australia's Social Connectedness and Emotional Well-being.
  • Associate Professor Colette Boskovic - Metal-Based Molecular Materials: From Electronic Structure to Functionality.
  • Dr Daniel Heath - Designing functional biomaterials with superior cellular interactions.
  • Associate Professor Eva Alisic - Young people bereaved by domestic homicide.
  • Dr David Garrett - Carbon Cybernetics: Next generation tools for neuroscience.
  • Associate Professor Charles Kemp - Categorisation, communication and the local environment.
  • Professor Richard Sandberg - Unravelling the enigma of turbulence by integrating simulation & modelling.