Inaugural Hansen Scholars set to inspire future generations

Hansen Scholars
Program Patron Jane Hansen and Vice-Chancellor Duncan Maskell (rear) with the 2020 Hansen Scholars. Picture: Peter Casamento/University of Melbourne

The University of Melbourne is delighted to welcome its first intake of Hansen Scholars, recipients of the University’s most generous and broad-based undergraduate scholarship, the Hansen Scholarship Program.

Hansen Scholarship Program Patron Jane Hansen and Vice-Chancellor Duncan Maskell presented 20 scholarships on Thursday night.

Established in 2019, the Hansen Scholarship Program is designed to help outstanding students from a diverse range of backgrounds thrive at university and go on to realise their potential.

The Hansen Scholars will be supported for the full three years of their bachelor’s degree at the University of Melbourne. Scholars will receive a living allowance, mentoring and pastoral care, academic, cultural, career and other development opportunities. Initially, the Hansen Scholars will move into student accommodation on Royal Parade before moving into the purpose-built new student residence, Little Hall, which will open later this year.

“The vision of the Hansen Little Foundation has been to create a scholarship program that would give more opportunities to young Australians to pursue their dreams and re-imagine their futures through access to university,” Ms Hansen said.

“I am delighted that what we conceived over three years ago has now become a reality with the first intake of Hansen Scholars about to commence at the University of Melbourne.

“These young people represent an outstanding cohort who have demonstrated resilience and determination in their personal lives to achieve academic excellence. I look forward to watching their progress and continuing to support them during this important stage of their lives and beyond.”

University of Melbourne Vice-Chancellor Duncan Maskell praised the Hansen Little Foundation for starting the scholarship program.

“Through the generosity of Jane Hansen and Paul Little, the annual intake of 20 students will have access to scholarships and other resources that will enable them to thrive at the University,” Professor Maskell said.

“I wish the first intake of Hansen Scholars the best of luck and I encourage them to make the most of the wonderful opportunity they have been provided by the Hansen Little Foundation.”

Hansen Scholarship Program Director, Associate Professor Heather Benbow said the inaugural group of Hansen Scholars are an impressive and diverse group of students from across Australia.

“The scholars come from the inner city, the outer suburbs, regional towns and farming communities around Australia,” Ms Benbow said. “They share a drive to succeed and demonstrated academic success in spite of challenges they have faced in life so far.”

The Hansen Scholars are: Elissa Abou Eissa (St Francis Xavier College VIC), Laura Charlton (Smith’s Hill High NSW), Jayde Cosford (Lauriston Girls’ School VIC), Mollie Crompton (St Mary’s Catholic College NSW), Sarah Dellicastelli (Galen Catholic College VIC), Erin Dermody (Ballarat High School VIC), Suvinya Disanayaka (Canterbury Girls’ Secondary College VIC), Hachins D’Souza (St Monica’s College VIC), Izma Haider (All Saints Anglican School QLD), Ashleigh Hallinan (Bendigo Senior Secondary College VIC), Zahraa Hameed (Greenwood College WA), Kali Irvine-Nagle (Gippsland Grammar School VIC), Isika Kusandar (Perth Modern College WA), Jeremy Mann (St Bede’s College VIC), Malaz Mohamed-Bakhit (Collingwood Secondary College VIC), Liam Morey (Sienna Catholic College QLD), Adelaide Pope (St Aidan’s Anglican Girl’s School QLD), Olivia Sutherland (Peninsula Grammar VIC), Madison Waters (Rosebud Secondary College VIC), Andeli Zuzic (Eltham High School VIC).

Read more about the Hansen Scholars here.