We are governed by the University of Melbourne Act 2009 (Vic).

The 13-member Council is the University's governing body, with the authority to make statutes and regulations, and the Academic Board is the chief academic body. The University has nine faculties, led and managed by a Vice-Chancellor and the senior leadership team.