Vice-Chancellor's Fellows

Vice-Chancellor's Fellowships were established in 1997 to provide "in residence" status for distinguished public figures, giving them access to a scholarly environment and inviting them to work on projects of value to the University and wider community.

The University of Melbourne has appointed Vice-Chancellor's Fellows from a broad range of disciplines and backgrounds, including former State Premiers and composers, molecular biologists and newscasters. During their tenure, Vice-Chancellor's Fellows make distinctive and deeply valued contributions to the scholarly and public life of the University.

Appointment is usually for one year, and may be taken part-time over several years.

Current Vice-Chancellor's Fellows:

  • The Hon. Jenny Macklin, BCom (Hons) Melbourne – appointed 2019, based at the Melbourne School of Government
  • Professor Sir John Savill, BA, MBChB, MRCP, PhD, FRCP (London), FMedSci, FRCP (Edinburgh), FASN, FRSE, FRS – appointed 2019, based at the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences
  • Mr John McCarthy AO, MA LLB University of Cambridge, FAIIA – appointed 2021, based at Asialink
  • Professor Mark Considine, BA PhD Melbourne, FASSA, FIPAA – appointed 2021, based at the Faculty of Arts
  • Mr Jon Faine AM, BA, LLB Monash - appointed 2022, based at the Melbourne Law School
  • The Hon. Jaala Pulford, BBM Ballarat, MPP Deakin, GAICD – appointed 2023, based at the Faculty of Science