Our unique structure, called the Melbourne Operating Model, streamlines the way staff work at the University of Melbourne. Featuring three interdependent areas – Chancellery, Academic Divisions and University Services – it aims to harness expertise and maximise efficiency for the ultimate benefit of improved teaching and learning, research outcomes, and engagement.

Faculties and graduate schools

The three interdependent areas

Academic Divisions

Made up of our faculties, graduate schools, research institutes and industry partners, the Academic Divisions lead the delivery of our teaching and learning, research and engagement activities.


Chancellery develops the overall strategy for the University, setting policy directions, allocating capital, building capability and acting as custodian of the University’s brand.

University Services

The operational needs of staff and students – whether finance and HR, property services, marketing and other important business functions – are delivered by University Services, allowing students and academics to focus on scholarly pursuits.